Kangaroo Island | Published on 5th June 2017 at 10:45

QantasLink today announced it will launch flights to Kangaroo Island, providing travellers with a new destination on its domestic network.

From December, QantasLink will offer flights to Kangaroo Island from both Adelaide and Melbourne with a schedule that sees more flights during peak seasons, providing around 20,000 seats a year using its Dash-8 50 seat Q300 and 74 seat Q400 aircraft.

Flights from Adelaide will commence on 4 December, operating three times per week year-round, and increasing to five times per week over the peak summer season through to Easter. Seasonal flights from Melbourne will commence on 17 December 2017, operating three times per week during the peak summer holiday season through to the end of January.

To mark the announcement, QantasLink has today flown one of its Q300 aircraft to Kangaroo Island.

QantasLink Chief Executive Officer John Gissing said the new route was great news for travellers and a win for tourism.

“We’re excited to be adding a new destination to our network, and we look forward to encouraging Australian and international travellers to explore all that Kangaroo Island has to offer,” said Mr Gissing.

“Kangaroo Island is just a short hop away from the mainland. With natural beauty and unique wildlife, the Island has huge potential for growth as a tourism destination and is a fast-growing premium travel market.

“Our flights will make Kangaroo Island more accessible, saving travel time and providing a new opportunity for our 11 million frequent flyers to use their points.

“I’d like to acknowledge the support of the South Australian Government, Adelaide Airport and the Kangaroo Island Council in helping make these new services possible.”

South Australian Premier Jay Weatherill said: “I am delighted that Australia’s iconic ‘flying kangaroo’ has announced that it will start flying to its namesake, Kangaroo Island in December.

“Kangaroo Island is already one of our State’s most popular destinations and now thousands more people from South Australia, interstate and overseas will get to experience one of our great natural wonders.

“The Island is world-renowned for its premium food and wine and is the ultimate taste of Australia for visitors with its abundant wildlife.

“Tourism is one of our State’s great growth industries and our partnership with Qantas will deliver even more jobs and economic growth for South Australia.”

Adelaide Airport Managing Director, Mark Young said: “We’re confident the new QantasLink service will further lift the profile of this amazing destination and attract more travellers from around the globe.”

To celebrate the new route, QantasLink is offering special fares of $99 one-way, for travel from Adelaide to Kangaroo Island, and $199 one-way from Melbourne to Kangaroo Island, until 9 June 2017 for travel between 4 December 2017 and 30 April 2018.*

The new services will be made possible through more efficient utilisation of QantasLink’s Dash 8 fleet.
Kangaroo Island will be the 55th destination on the QantasLink network and the fourth South Australian destination after Adelaide, Port Lincoln and Whyalla.

Kangaroo Island peak season schedule

Flight number Days of week Route Depart Arrive Aircraft
QF2142** Mon, Wed, Thu, Sat, Sun Adelaide-Kangaroo Island 1040 1115 Q300
QF2143** Mon, Wed, Thu, Sat, Sun Kangaroo Island-Adelaide 1145 1220 Q300
QF2140^ Tue, Fri


Melbourne-Kangaroo Island 1135




QF2141^ Tue, Fri


Kangaroo Island-Melbourne 1345





**Adelaide flights to operate five days per week from 4 December 2017 to 1 April 2018. From 2 April 2018, flights will operate three days per week – on Monday, Wednesday and Saturdays.
^ Melbourne peak season flights will operate from 17 December 2017 to 28 January 2018

* Flight prices are per person in Australian Dollars, based on payment at by BPAY, POLi or Qantas issued UATP. Direct Melbourne to Kangaroo Island flights 17 December 2017 to 28 January 2018, and the $199 one-way fare will be available for fares via Adelaide for the duration of the special fare travel period (4 December 2017 to 30 April 2018).