Qantas Foundation Announces Art Award Winners

Sydney | Published on 26th November 2012 at 2:03

The Qantas Foundation has tonight revealed the winners of the 2012 Encouragement of Australian Contemporary Art Award, with artists from each state and territory taking home a share of cash and Qantas airfares in recognition of their artistic talents.

Each winner receives $8,000 cash and $10,000 Qantas voucher to help further inspire their quest for artistic excellence and support their ambitions.

The Qantas Foundation received a shortlist of 24 submissions, with the entries assessed by an esteemed judging panel including Elizabeth Ann Macgregor, Director of The Museum of Contemporary Art, and renowned art collector Pat Corrigan. Other judges included Julie Lomax and Frank Panucci (Australia Council), art advisor Alan Dodge and 2011 winner Ash Keating.

Qantas Foundation Director Olivia Wirth said the Foundation was delighted to support and encourage Australian artists who could well be the next Brett Whiteley or Peter Weir.

“The 2012 entries were an impressive line-up including contemporary painting, photography, sculptures and audio visual pieces. We applaud the creativity and the originality of these modern artists,” said Ms Wirth.

This year’s winners are:

– ACT Chris Carmody – inter-disciplinary (abstract, observational and conceptual art)
– QLD Daniel McKewen- Digital Media
– NSW Jess Olivieri and Hayley Forward – (collective submission)
performance, sound, video, dance and installation
– NT Min Wong – site-specific installation, video and photography
– SA Heidi Kenyon – Sculptural Installation
– TAS Mich Meijers and Tricky Walsh (collective submission) – inter-disciplinary
(drawing, sculpture, moving image and sound and performance)
– VIC Susan Jacobs – drawing, sculpture, performance and video
– WA Andrew Varano – sculpture, model making, video and writing