Sydney | Published on 1st July 2014 at 11:41

Qantas has today announced it has expanded its codesharing agreement with Airnorth to include Darwin – Gove – Cairns route.

Qantas already codeshares on Airnorth services between Kununurra and Perth, Darwin and Broome and also between Darwin and Dili, Mount Isa, Gold Coast, Townsville, Port Hedland and Karratha (via Broome).

Qantas Executive Manager Steve Limbrick said he was pleased to broaden the current codesharing arrangement with Airnorth.

“We’re pleased that we’re expanding our codesharing arrangement with Airnorth to include the Darwin – Gove – Cairns route,” Mr Limbrick said.

“This means that our customers travelling to and from Gove will be able to continue to earn Qantas Frequent Flyer points, enjoy seamless connectivity and have their luggage checked straight through to their final destination.

“Qantas Club members will also continue to enjoy lounge access at Darwin and Cairns Airports.”

The codeshare will take effect on 18 August 2014, when Airnorth commences services on the route.